HOW TO TYPE WITH LONG FIXED NAILS

Lois Onyinyemme Bassey
2 min readJul 3, 2021
Fixed Nails

If you are a female programmer who loves fixing her nails, you’ll agree with me that typing on your keyboard with your nails fixed especially if you like them long can be such a chore. It can be daunting even. Before now I only fix my nails once a year (on special occasions that is) and I make sure to remove it about a week later. So, how do you type with long nails? The following tips helped:

1. Type with your fingers, not your nails

Many women with long nails fall into the trap of typing on the keyboard with their fingernails, not their fingers. This is counter-intuitive because your fingernails don’t provide a wide point of contact like your fingers. It’s a good idea to straighten your fingers so that you can easily glide across the keyboard rather than using the tips of your fingers directly on it.

2.Adjust your posture accordingly

Not only is typing with your nails uncomfortable, but you are more likely to break or damage them. To help you become more comfortable, try to adjust your sitting posture accordingly.

3. Focus on precision, not speed

Let’s face it. You’re going to have to sacrifice one thing if you choose to type with long nails: speed. This shouldn’t be an issue though, as typing accurately can more than make up for the decrease in speed. Precision is all about how you can press the right keys consistently. By eliminating typos, you can actually save more time when typing on the keyboard.

4. Practice! Practice! Practice!

With enough time, typing on a keyboard will become second nature to you, under the condition that you learn to type with the proper technique and get to know the typing technique that works for you and the nails you fixed.

I applied the above and it worked for me, in time I got soo used to my nails that when one of them came off, I found it hard to type cause I was used to the long nail. Currently, whilst typing this, I have my long nails on which I fixed about 4 weeks ago and I’m not removing them anytime soon.

Do I deliver on my tech jobs as a developer? Yes!
I got used to the nails and didn’t see as a limitation, you can too.

Loved my article?
Drop a clap!

--

--